2022 Leadership Awards

Contact or visit us

Student Life
Roy Story Student Center
5000 Saint Paul Avenue
Lincoln, NE 68504
(402) 465-2223

2022 Leadership Awards

The students listed below have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, in campus leadership, and in service. Their commitment to their education and to Nebraska Wesleyan University have enriched our campus and demonstrate Nebraska Wesleyan's core values of excellence and community.

Blue Key

Nebraska Wesleyan University’s chapter of Blue Key began in 1920 as a local student honorary called “The Purple Dragon Society.” Seven years later, this group is affiliated with the national Blue Key Honor Society. Blue Key membership is composed of outstanding students with potential for development into active citizens; community leaders; and loyal, informed alumni. Juniors and seniors are selected by current Blue Key members based on their achievements in academics, extracurricular activities, leadership and service to their communities

Jocelyn Bergt Michael Biertzer Lauren Collins
Annie Cooper Megan Cooper Paige Cunningham
Avery Decker Lindsey Dittmar Jasmine Doell
Jamie Dolph Megan Eisenbarth Kyle Goodban
Robin Grigg Makenzie Haskins Rowe Rachel Janecek
Alex Lollmann Jacob Mason Marlon Orellana
Ashley Parde Kathryn Phillips Ellie Roselius
Joran Teijema Matthew Utley Tyler Welch

Student Life Leadership Award

Selection for the Student Life Leadership Award is based upon senior students’ scholarship, participation and leadership in academic and extracurricular activities, citizenship and service to Nebraska Wesleyan and potential for future achievement. A committee of faculty, administrators and students discusses each student’s qualifications. Students selected represent a wide range of academic disciplines and extracurricular endeavors.

Spencer Anderson* Samantha Barrata Holden Christian
Madison Cockerill Sara Curtis Jason Ezell
Josephine Fails Jacob Garnas Brady Harrison
Sybil Heffernan Alexis Hergott* Annie Johnson
Anthony Krick Emma McGinnis Alexis Ortega
Jaqueline Ortega Kyle Ott Kamryn Pfenning
Mary Pinnell Paige Ravenscroft* Sergio Rodriguez
Colin Swanson Juniors: Marlon Orellana Abby Swanson

*Students previously inducted into Blue Key

Kenneth R. Holder Memorial Award

Dr. Kenneth R. Holder made many significant contributions to student development and learning as Professor of English and Provost of Nebraska Wesleyan University. As a tribute to him through his courageous four-year battle with cancer, Student Life established this award to be presented to a graduating senior who has overcome significant challenges in attaining a baccalaureate degree at Nebraska Wesleyan University.

Danielle Reab

Dean B. Stewart Award for Courage

The Dean Stewart Award for Courage is presented to a student, staff or faculty member who has displayed remarkable courage in the face of overwhelming odds or barriers. The award is named for Dean Stewart, a Nebraska Wesleyan alumnus and Phi Kappa Tau member. The recipient of this award demonstrates that courage is not the absence of fear, but it is doing what must be done in its presence.

Jason Ezell